“The Knowledge Library”

Knowledge for All, without Barriers…

An Initiative by: Kausik Chakraborty.

“The Knowledge Library”

Knowledge for All, without Barriers……….
An Initiative by: Kausik Chakraborty.

The Knowledge Library

Indian Railways At a Glance

Indian Railway is an Indian state-owned enterprise, owned and operated by the Government of India through the Ministry of Railways. It is one of the world’s largest railway networks comprising 115,000 km and 7,112 stations.

  • Railways were first introduced to India in the year 1853 from Mumbai to Thane
  • Indian Railways Nationalised in 1951
  • The country’s first railway, built by the Great Indian Peninsula Railway
  • The Indian railway system is the largest in Asia and fourth in the world based on rail transport network size after USA, China and Russia
  • It is the biggest employer in the world and the largest single undertaking in the country
  • It has the second biggest electrified system in the world after Russia
  • Indian Railways is divided into 16 zones.which are further sub-divided into 68 divisions
  • Each zone is headed by a general manager

Railway Zones

Name Established Headquarters Divisions
Southern 14 April 1951 Chennai Chennai, Tiruchirappalli, Madurai, and Salem, Palakkad,Thiruvananthapuram
Central 5 November 1951 Mumbai Mumbai,CST, Bhusawal, Pune, Solapur and
Western 5 November 1951 Mumbai Mumbai,Central, Ratlam, Ahmedabad, Rajkot,
Bhavnagar and Vadodara
Eastern 14 April 1952 Kolkata Howrah, Sealdah, Asansol and Malda Town
Northern 14 April 1952 Delhi Delhi, Ambala, Firozpur, Lucknow and
North Eastern 14 April 1952 Gorakhpur Izzatnagar, Lucknow and Varanasi
South Eastern 1955 Kolkata Adra, Chakradharpur, Kharagpur and Ranchi
Northeast Frontier 15 January 1958 Maligaon Alipurduar, Katihar, Rangia, Lumding and
South Central 2 October 1966 Secunderabad Vijayawada, Secunderabad, Guntakal, Guntur,
Hyderabad and Nanded
East Central 1 October 2002 Hajipur Danapur, Dhanbad, Mughalsarai, Samastipur
and  Sonpur
North Western 1 October 2002 Jaipur Jaipur, Ajmer, Bikaner and Jodhpur
East Coast 1 April 2003 Bhubaneswar Khurda Road, Sambalpur and Visakhapatnam
North Central 1 April 2003 Allahabad Allahabad, Agra and Jhansi
South East Central 1 April 2003 Bilaspur Bilaspur, Raipur and Nagpur
South Western 1 April 2003 Hubli Hubli, Bangalore, Mysore and Gulbarga
West Central 1 April 2003 Jabalpur Jabalpur, Bhopal and Kota

Sign up to Receive Awesome Content in your Inbox, Frequently.

We don’t Spam!
Thank You for your Valuable Time