“The Knowledge Library”

Knowledge for All, without Barriers…

An Initiative by: Kausik Chakraborty.

“The Knowledge Library”

Knowledge for All, without Barriers……….
An Initiative by: Kausik Chakraborty.

The Knowledge Library

List of Nobel Laureates From India

A List of Nobel Laureates From India is Given Below:

  • Rabindranath Tagore, Nobel Prize in Literature (1913) : in recognition of his work Geetanjali, a collection of poems.
  • C.V. Raman, Nobel Prize in Physics (1930) : For his work on the scattering of light and for the discovery of the effect named after him.
  • Har Gobind Khorana, Nobel Prize in Medicine (1968) : For their interpretation of the genetic code and its function in protein synthesis.
  • Mother Teresa, Nobel Peace Prize (1979) : In recognition of [her] work in bringing help to suffering humanity.
  • Subrahmanyam Chandrasekhar, Nobel Prize in Physics (1983) : For his theoretical studies of the physical processes of importance to the structure and evolution of the stars.
  • Amartya Sen, Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences (1998) : For his contributions to welfare economics.
  • Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2009) : For Structure and function of the ribosome, macromolecular crystallography.
  • Kailash Satyarthi, Nobel Peace Prize (2014) : For their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education.
  • Abhijit Banerjee, Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences (2019) : For their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty.

Amartya Sen (B-1933): Nobel Laureates From India

  • Prof. Amartya Sen is the recipient of the Nobel Prize for Economics for the year 1998, becoming the first Asian to have been honoured with the award.
  • The Santiniketan born economist who is a pioneer in Welfare Economics has to his credit several books and papers on aspects of welfare and development.
  • An economist with a difference, Prof. Sen is a humanist.
  • He has distinguished himself with his outstanding writings on famine, poverty, democracy, gender and social issues.
  • The ‘impossibility theorem’ suggested earlier by Kenneth Arrow states that it was not possible to aggregate individual choices into a satisfactory choice for society as a whole.
  • Prof. Sen showed mathematically that societies could find ways to alleviate such a poor outcome.

Subramanian Chandrashekhar (1910-1995): Nobel Laureates From India

  • The Nobel Prize for Physics in 1983 was awarded to Dr S. Chandrashekhar, an Indian-born astrophysicist.
  • Educated in Presidency College, Chennai, Dr Chandrashekhar happened to be the nephew of his Nobel forbear, Sir C.V. Raman.
  • He later migrated to the United States where he authored several books on Astrophysics and Stellar Dynamics.
  • He developed a theory on white dwarf stars which posts a limit of mass of dwarf stars known also as Chandrashekhar Limit.
  • His theory explains the final stages of stellar evolution.

Mother Teresa (1910-1997): Nobel Laureates From India

  • The Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to Mother Teresa in 1979. Albanian parentage, Agnes Gonxha Bojaxhiu was born at Skopje, now in Yogoslavia.
  • She joined the Irish order of the Sisters of Loretto at Dublin in 1928 and came to Kolkata in 1929 as a missionary, only to find the misery of the abandoned and the destitute.
  • Concern for the poor and the sick prompted her to found a new congregation, Missionaries of Charity.
  • Having become an Indian citizen, Mother Teresa served the cause of dying destitutes, lepers and drug addicts, through Nirmal Hriday (meaning Pure Heart), the main centre of her activity.
  • Her selfless service and unique devotion, not only to helpless fellow-Indians but also to the cause of world peace, earned her and India the first Nobel Peace Prize.

Hargobind Khorana (1922-2011): Nobel Laureates From India

  • Hargobind Khorana was awarded the Nobel Prize for Medicine in 1968. Of Indian origin, Dr Khorana was born in Raipur, Punjab (now in Pakistan).
  • He took his doctoral degree in Chemistry from Liverpool University and joined the University of Wisconsin as a Faculty Member in 1960.
  • His major breakthrough in the field of Medicine -interpreting the genetic code and analysing its function in protein synthesis- fetched him the Nobel Prize.

Chandrashekhar Venkataraman (1888-1970): Nobel Laureates From India

Nobel Laureates from India
C V Raman
  • India’s first Nobel Prize for Physics was claimed in 1930 by the renowned physicist Sir C.V. Raman.
  • Born at Thiruvanaikkaval near Tiruchirapalli in Tamilnadu, Raman studied at Presidency College, Chennai. Later, he served as Professor of Physics at Calcutta University.
  • Recipient of many honours and awards, including the title of ‘Sir’, Sir C.V. Raman received the Nobel Prize for an important optics research, in which he discovered that diffused light contained rays of other wavelengths-what is now popularly known as Raman Effect.
  • His theory discovered in 1928 explains the change in the frequency of light passing through a transparent medium.

Rabindranath Tagore (1861-1941): Nobel Laureates From India

  • Rabindranath Tagore was the first Indian ever to receive a Nobel Prize. Popularly known as Gurudev, India’s Poet Laureate Tagore was born on 7th May 1861, in Kolkata.
  • He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in recognition of his work Geetanjali, a collection of poems, in 1913.
  • Tagore wrote many love lyrics. Geetanjali and Sadhana are among his important works.
  • The poet, dramatist and novelist is also the author of India’s National Anthem. In 1901 he founded the famous Santiniketan which later came to be known as Vishwabharati University.

The following are the Nobel laureates of foreign origin who were either born in India or were residents in India when they became recipients of the Nobel Prize but were not Indian citizens.

  • Ronald Ross, in Medicine (1902)
  • Rudyard Kipling, in Literature (1907)
  • 14th Dalai Lama, in Peace (1989)

Sign up to Receive Awesome Content in your Inbox, Frequently.

We don’t Spam!
Thank You for your Valuable Time

Share this post