“The Knowledge Library”

Knowledge for All, without Barriers…

An Initiative by: Kausik Chakraborty.

“The Knowledge Library”

Knowledge for All, without Barriers……….
An Initiative by: Kausik Chakraborty.

The Knowledge Library

Kuril Islands

  • The Kuril Islands, also known as the Kurile Islands, are a volcanic archipelago situated in the northern Pacific Ocean.
  • They stretch from the northeastern tip of Hokkaido, Japan, to the southernmost tip of Russia’s Kamchatka Peninsula.
  • It consist of 56 islands, with Iturup, Kunashir, Shikotan, and Habomai being the most significant.
  • The Kuril Islands are part of the Pacific Ring of Fire, an area with intense volcanic and seismic activity, due to the movement of tectonic plates.
  • The islands are home to several active volcanoes, with some of the notable ones being Alaid, Ebeko, and Chikurachki.

What is the dispute?

  • The islands have been a subject of territorial dispute between Russia and Japan since the end of World War II.
  • After the war, the Soviet Union took control of the Kuril Islands, leading to the displacement of around 17,000 Japanese residents who were living there.
  • Japan claims the southernmost islands (Iturup, Kunashir, Shikotan, and Habomai) and refers to them as the “Northern Territories.”
  • Russia maintains sovereignty over the islands and considers them an integral part of its territory.
  • The territorial dispute has hindered the signing of a formal peace treaty between Russia and Japan to officially end World War II hostilities.

Sign up to Receive Awesome Content in your Inbox, Frequently.

We don’t Spam!
Thank You for your Valuable Time

Share this post