“The Knowledge Library”

Knowledge for All, without Barriers…

An Initiative by: Kausik Chakraborty.
06/12/2022 9:34 AM

“The Knowledge Library”

Knowledge for All, without Barriers……….
An Initiative by: Kausik Chakraborty.

The Knowledge Library

National Animal of India: Royal Bengal Tiger


National Animal of India

The national animal of India is the magnificent Royal Bengal Tiger. Its scientific name is Panthera tigris tigris. The Bengal Tiger is a striped animal with a thick yellow coat of fur with dark stripes. The Royal Bengal tiger is the symbol of strength, agility, and grace. The Royal Bengal Tiger is majestic, regal, and lethal at the same time which makes it one of the most distinguished carnivores among the Indian fauna. It is known for its mystic and charming features that set it apart from the rest of the wild animals found anywhere in India. It is these qualities that make it the national animal of India. 

National Animal of India: Scientific Classification

Kingdom Animalia
Phylum Chordata
Clade Synapsida
Class Mammalia
Order Carnivora
Family Felidae
Genus Panthera
Species Panthera tigris
Subspecies Panthera tigris tigris

National Animal of India: Where is it Found?

The national animal of India is mainly found in the following places.

Grasslands and dry scrubland (Ranthambore in Rajasthan)

Tropical and subtropical rainforests (Corbett in Uttarakhand/Periyar in Kerala)

Mangroves (Sunderbans)

Both wet and dry deciduous forests (Kanha in Madhya Pradesh/Simlipal in Odisha).

Life Span of A Tiger

Bengal tiger has an average lifespan of 8 to 10 years in the wild.

The maximum lifespan of the wild specimen is about 15 years.

Very few tigers reach 15 years in the wild because they eventually become too weak to hunt large animals.

In captivity, Bengal tigers can live as long as 18 to 20 years.

India’s National Animal: Project Tiger

By 1973, the population of the tiger started dwindling at a rapid rate. Therefore, to preserve the regal and majestic animal Project Tiger was initiated in April 1973. The Project Tiger aims at protecting them from extinction and preserving areas of biological importance as a natural heritage forever representing as close as possible the diversity of ecosystems across the distribution of tigers in the country.

The national animal of India, the Royal Bengal Tiger was adopted as a national animal in April 1973.

In 1973, Project Tiger was initiated to protect the dwindling population of tigers in India during Prime Minister Indira Gandhi’s tenure.

Kailash Sankhala was the first director of Project Tiger.

Prior to 1973, the lion was the national animal of India.

At present India has 50 tiger reserves which are governed by Project Tiger.

List of National Animals of all Countries

Here is the full list of National Animals of all Countries.

Country National Animal
Afghanistan Marco Polo Sheep
Argentina Puma
Australia Kangaroo
Bangladesh Royal Bengal Tiger
Belgium Lion
Bhutan Takin
Bolivia Llama
Brazil Jaguar
Bulgaria Lion
Chile Huemul
China Chinese Dragon
Colombia Andean Condor
Cuba Cuban Crocodile
Cyprus mouflon sheep
Denmark Lion
Egypt Saladin’s Eagle
England Lion, Bulldog
Finland Brown Bear
France Gallic Rooster
Hungary Turul
India Royal Bengal Tiger
Iraq Komodo Dragon
Ireland Irish Wolfhound, Red Deer
Israel gazelle
Japan Pheasant, Koi
Jordan Oryx
Malaysia Malayan Tiger
Myanmar peafowl
Netherlands Lion
New Zealand Moose
Norway Lion
Pakistan Markhor
Philippines Carabao
Poland White Eagle
Portugal Iberian wolf
Puerto Rico Coqui
Romania lynx
Russia Russian Brown Bear
Scotland Unicorn and Lion
Singapore Lion
South Africa Springbok Antelope
South Korea Korean Tiger
Spain Bull
Sri Lanka Lion
Taiwan Formosan Black Bear
Thailand Thai Elephant
United States of America American Bison
Vietnam Water Buffalo
Zimbabwe Sable Antelope

Sign up to Receive Awesome Content in your Inbox, Frequently.

We don’t Spam!
Thank You for your Valuable Time


Share this post