“The Knowledge Library”

Knowledge for All, without Barriers…

An Initiative by: Kausik Chakraborty.
05/02/2023 11:22 PM

“The Knowledge Library”

Knowledge for All, without Barriers……….
An Initiative by: Kausik Chakraborty.

The Knowledge Library

Interesting Facts about Seven Sister States of India (Northeast Region)

This article envisages to provide articulate facts about seven sister states of India, interesting facts about north east region of India, states that forms the north east frontier of India.

interesting facts about seven sister states of India

Seven Sister States of India

The seven sister states of India from north to south are Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Manipur, Tripura and Mizoram. Sikkim belongs to the group of north eastern states but doesn’t belongs to the group of seven sister states of India. Sikkim is also called as the only brother of seven sister states. Total area of seven sister states is 2,55,511 Sq Km. Total area of seven sister states is about 7% of India’s area. Population of seven sister states as per 2011 census is 44.98 million which is roughly 3.7% of India’s population.

Origin of Seven Sister Term

A question arrives why these states are called as Seven sister states or how this name was coined? The sobriquet “Land of Seven Sisters” was coined by a journalist Jyoti Prasad Saikia in 1972 during the inaugural formation of north east states of India.  A book was also published by him with the title Land of Seven Sisters which caught attention and this name was hence coined representing the togetherness and commonness of north east states of India.


Geographical Facts about Seven Sister States of India

  • Northeast state with largest area is Arunachal Pradesh. Smallest area state is Tripura.
  • Seven sister state with highest population is Assam. Lowest population state is Mizoram.
  • Seven sister state with highest population density is Assam. Lowest population density state is Arunachal Pradesh.
  • Seven sister state with highest literacy is Mizoram. Lowest literate state is Arunachal Pradesh.
  • Seven sister state with highest sex ratio is Manipur. Lowest sex ratio state is Arunachal Pradesh.
  • World’s biggest river island – Majuli is located in Assam. This island is surrounded by Brahmaputra river.
  • India’s longest bridge Bhupen Hazarika Bridge (Dhola Sadiya Bridge) is built on Lohit river. It is located in eastern Assam. This bridge is strategically important bridge which connects Assam with Arunachal Pradesh.
  • North east states boasts of its world famous National Parks such as Kaziranga, Manas, Nameri, Balphakram National Park,  etc.
  • India’s longest cave system is located in Jaintia hills of Meghalaya. This cave system is located in 22 km long streach. 
    interesting facts about meghalaya

    Nohkaliaki Falls

  • Nohkaliaki Falls is not only of northeast’s but of whole India’s highest plunge type water fall. This is located in Cherrapunji of Meghalaya.
  • Mawsynram near Cherrapunji is wettest place on earth. This place holds world record of maximum rain in a year.
  • The largest of seven sisters – Arunachal Pradesh is also called as Orchid state of India and Paradise of Botanist.
  • There are two seven sister states through which tropic of cancer passes. These two states are Tripura and Mizoram.
  • Loktak lake of Manipur is the largest lake of northeast region of India. The only one of its kind floating National park Keibul Lamjao is in loktak lake.
  • Mithun (a semi domesticated bull) is found only in north-east states of India.
  • Nagaland is also called as Falcon capital of world.

Historical Facts about Seven Sister States of India

  • The medieval history of north east witnesses three major dynasties-Ahoms, Sutiyas and Koch. Ahom kings ruled upper Assam for nearly 600 years. Sutias ruled north banks of Brahmaputra mostly present Arunachal Pradesh. Koch kings ruled west Assam and north parts of present Bengal. There were mutual rivalry between Ahoms and Sutias. By the 17th century with Ahoms rising in power, most of the Sutia regions were annexed.
  • Northeast states throughout the history remained forbidden land for muslim invaders especially Mughals. Despite their hard efforts, Mughals were never successful in gaining control of the northeastern region of India.
  • Originally it was only Assam in this region and most of the seven sister states (except Tripura) were carved out from it. Arunachal Pradesh which was earlier known as NEFA (North east Frontier Agency) was carved out from Assam in 1948. Arunachal Pradesh was declared Union Territory in 1972 and it became state in 1987. Nagaland was carved out from Assam as a separate state in 1963. Meghalaya and Mizoram were also carved out as separate states in 1972. Due to these separated states original Assam has reduced to one third of its original area.
  • Tripura was a princely state in British India and was also known as Tippera district and an independent part Hill Tippera. During partition, Tippera district became part of East Pakistan while Hill Tippera came in India and later became Union Territory in 1956. Hill Tippera is the present day Tripura which became full fledged state in 1972.

Social and Cultural Facts about Seven Sister States of India

  • There are only 3 Indian states where Christians are in majority and Christianity is the pre-dominant religion. These three states belong to northeast region. These states are – Nagaland (90%), Meghalaya (70%) and Mizoram (88%).
  • Arunachal Pradesh has mixed demography with Christians about 30%, Hindu 29% and Buddhist 12%, others represent 26% of the total population of Arunachal Pradesh.
  • The places of religious and cultural importance includes Kamakhya temple of Guwahati, Shivadol of Sivasagar, Tawang and Bomdila Monasteries,  Parashuram Kund, Hajo powa macca, Unakoti hill temples of Tripura.
  • As per 2011 census, Mizoram has maximum percentage of tribal population. About 94.4% of Mizoram population is of tribals. Mizoram is also second highest literate state of India after Kerala.
  • Literacy of seven sister states in general is fairly high with exception of Arunachal Pradesh. Meghalaya, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram and Tripura have outstanding literacy well above India’s average literacy rate of 74%. Assam (72.2%) is on border line while only Arunachal Pradesh (67%) is not at the par in comparison to other seven sisters. 
    Facts about Assam

    Bihu Celebrations of Assam

  • Seven sister states are known for their colorful festivals. Bihu a harvest festival is popularly celebrated in Assam. Nagaland has its colorful and vibrant Hornbill festival. Chapchar Kut is celebrated with full enthusiasm and fervor in Mizoram. Dol jatra and Kut festival is the essence of Manipur and Durga Puja is seen as important festival in Tripura due to dominant bengali community. 
    Classical Dances of India

    Manipuri Classical Dance

  • The major classical dance form which becomes a symbol of representation of north east India is Manipuri. This classical dance form is based on the instances of lord Shri Krishna and Radha.
  • Guwahati is called as gateway to northeast India. Guwahati is the the biggest city of seven sisters in terms of infrastructure, population and resources. Guwahati is one among the fastest growing cities of world.

Sign up to Receive Awesome Content in your Inbox, Frequently.

We don’t Spam!
Thank You for your Valuable Time


Share this post