“The Knowledge Library”

Knowledge for All, without Barriers…

An Initiative by: Kausik Chakraborty.

“The Knowledge Library”

Knowledge for All, without Barriers……….
An Initiative by: Kausik Chakraborty.

The Knowledge Library

Bharat Ratna Award Winners List (1954 to 2024)

The Bharat Ratna, meaning “Jewel of India,” is the highest civilian award bestowed by the Republic of India. Established in 1954, it recognizes exceptional service or performance of the highest order in any field of human endeavor.

Early Years (1954-1977):

  • Instituted on January 2nd, 1954, by President Rajendra Prasad.
  • Initially limited to achievements in arts, literature, science, and public service.
  • Originally restricted to a maximum of three awards per year.
  • The first recipients in 1954 were C. Rajagopalachari, Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, and C. V. Raman.
  • Awards were temporarily suspended between 1977 and 1980 due to a change in government.

Expansion and Controversies (1980-Present):

  • Resumed in 1980 and expanded to include foreign nationals in 1987 with the award to Pashtun leader Abdul Ghaffar Khan.
  • Further broadened in 1990 to include Nelson Mandela, the first black president of South Africa.
  • The selection process has faced criticism for being opaque and lacking clear criteria.
  • Periods of suspension also occurred between 1992 and 1995 and 2010 and 2011.
  • In 2011, the rules were amended to encompass “any field of human endeavor.”
  • The number of annual awards was also relaxed, with four recipients in 1999.

Recent Trends and Notable Recipients:

  • The award continues to be a prestigious recognition of outstanding contributions.
  • Recent recipients include Sachin Tendulkar (sports), Lata Mangeshkar (music), and Ratan Tata (industry).
  • The Bharat Ratna remains a symbol of national pride and serves as an inspiration for individuals to strive for excellence in their chosen fields.

Interesting Facts:

  • The award does not carry any monetary grant.
  • Recipients receive a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a medallion.
  • A total of 45 individuals have been awarded the Bharat Ratna as of 2024.

Bharat Ratna Award Winners List Year Wise 1954 to 2024


Year Recipients of Bharat Ratna Award
2024 Karpoori Thakur, Lal Krishna Advani, Charan Singh, P. V. Narasimha Rao, M. S. Swaminathan
2019 Nanaji Deshmukh, Bhupen Hazarika, Pranab Mukherjee
2015 Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Madan Mohan Malaviya
2014 C. N. R. Rao, Sachin Tendulkar
2008 Bhimsen Joshi
2001 Lata Mangeshkar, Bismillah Khan
1999 Jayaprakash Narayan, Amartya Sen, Gopinath Bordoloi, Ravi Shankar
1998 M. S. Subbulakshmi, C. Subramaniam
1997 Gulzarilal Nanda, Aruna Asaf Ali, A. P. J. Abdul Kalam
1992 Abul Kalam Azad, J. R. D. Tata, Satyajit Ray
1991 Rajiv Gandhi, Vallabhbhai Patel, Morarji Desai
1990 B. R. Ambedkar, Nelson Mandela
1988 M. G. Ramachandran
1987 Abdul Ghaffar Khan
1983 Vinoba Bhave
1980 Mother Teresa
1976 K. Kamaraj
1975 V. V. Giri
1971 Indira Gandhi
1966 Lal Bahadur Shastri
1963 Zakir Husain, Pandurang Vaman Kane
1962 Rajendra Prasad
1961 Bidhan Chandra Roy, Purushottam Das Tandon
1958 Dhondo Keshav Karve
1957 Govind Ballabh Pant
1955 Bhagwan Das, M. Visvesvaraya, Jawaharlal Nehru
1954 C. Rajagopalachari, Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, C. V. Raman


Sign up to Receive Awesome Content in your Inbox, Frequently.

We don’t Spam!
Thank You for your Valuable Time

Share this post